The Coastal Plain League is excited to announce the 2021 All-CPL First and Second teams. Each team features 28 players: one player per each infield position, five designated hitter/utility players, seven outfielders and 11 pitchers (a combination of relievers and starters.)

The team is highlighted by CPL Hitter of the Year Jack Harris of the Morehead City Marlins, and Pitcher of the Year Joe Miller of the Savannah Bananas. Joining them are a number of standout talents, nine of which were at one point CPL Players of the Week. Those include Cade Swisher (Tri-City, Week 1), Chris Ludman (Peninsula, Week 1), Kyle Luigs (Savannah, Week 2), Christian Easley (Martinsville, Week 3), Cam Fisher (Forest City, Week 4), Jared Mathewson (Asheboro, Week 4),Will Butcher (Forest City, Week 5), Bryson Bloomer (Savannah, Week 8) and John Behrends (Wilmington, Week 9.)

Also making the team were multiple category leaders: batting average (Cam Fisher, .384, runs batted in (Hogan Windish, 47), home runs (Hogan Windish & Jack Harris, 14), runs scored (Hogan Windish, 41), hits (Jack Harris, 56), doubles (Dylan Brewer, 15), walks (Trey Morgan, 34), slugging percentage (Jack Harris, .689), on-base percentage (Cam Fisher, .504), earned run average (Ryan Kennedy, 0.73), batters struck out (Joe Miller, 71) and saves (Garrett Houston, 9.)

One impressive feat to note is that of Peninsula’s Alden Mathes (Richmond) who earned All-CPL honors as both an outfielder and pitcher. He finished with a .337 batting average to go along with nine doubles, three triples, 10 home runs and 36 RBIs at the plate. On the mound he was a Swiss army knife for the Pilots, working both as a starter and a reliever when the moment called. The left-hander accumulated a 3.19 ERA across 31 innings pitched and 10 appearances while striking out 40 and notching four wins and four saves.

Below is the complete list for both the First and Second Team All-CPL players, positions with multiple players are listed in alphabetical order by last name:

First Team

C – Matt Malone (Martinsville / Minot State)
1B – Daniel Oberst (Savannah / West Georgia)
2B – Cal Bocchino (Spartanburg / Erskine)
SS – Drew Devine (Wilson / Western Michigan)
3B – Livan Reinoso (Savannah / Erskine)

DH/UTL – Bryson Bloomer (Savannah / Murray State)
DH/UTL – Will Butcher (Forest City / Charlotte)
DH/UTL – Thomas Caufield (HP-Thomasville / Charlotte)
DH/UTL – Riley Jepson (Wilson / UT-Tyler)
DH/UTL – Dylan Scaranda (Wilson / Barton)

OF – Dylan Brewer (Lexington County / Clemson)
OF – Cam Fisher (Forest City / Charlotte)
OF – Jack Harris (Morehead City / Newberry)
OF – Alden Mathes (Peninsula / Richmond)
OF – Benjamin Serrano (Martinsville / Niagara)
OF – Erik Stock (Peninsula / Connecticut)
OF – Hogan Windish (HP-Thomasville / UNC-Greensboro)

LHP – Andrew Armstrong (Savannah / Florida State)
LHP – Dylan Cunningham (Savannah / New Orleans)
RHP – Garrett Houston (Lexington County / Georgia College)
LHP – Joseph Kemlage (Wilmington / American International)
LHP – Ryan Kennedy (Savannah / Kennesaw State)
LHP – Will Lancaster (HP-Thomasville / USC-Upstate)
RHP – Chris Ludman (Peninsula / Delaware)
LHP – Jared Mathewson (Asheboro / UNC-Greensboro)
RHP – Dalton Mims (Lexington County / Winthrop)
LHP – Joe Miller (Savannah / Penn)
RHP – Hunter Stevens (Holly Springs / Mount Olive)

Second Team

C – Bill LeRoy (Savannah / North Georgia)
1B – Connor VanCleave (Morehead City / Pittsburgh State)
2B – Patrick Alvarez (Asheboro / North Carolina)
SS – Jesse Sherrill (Savannah / Georgia Southern)
3B – Wyatt Hensler (Asheboro / Penn)

DH/UTL – Andrew Ciufo (Wilmington / Georgetown)
DH/UTL – Ben Miller (Holly Springs / Penn)
DH/UTL – Zack Miller (Morehead City / Catawba)
DH/UTL – Ty Olenchuk (Lexington County / Clemson)
DH/UTL – Dayan Reinoso (Spartanburg / Erskine)

OF – John Behrends (Wilmington / Belmont)
OF – Christian Easley (Martinsville / Maryland-Baltimore County)
OF – Ty Jackson (Savannah / East Georgia)
OF – Sean Johnson (Morehead City / Belmont Abbey)
OF – Will Knight (Martinsville / Virginia Military Institute)
OF – Trey Morgan (Peninsula / Virginia Military Institute)
OF – Cade Swisher (Tri-City / Virginia Tech)

RHP – Max Alba (Wilmington / North Carolina)
LHP – Jared Beck (Savannah / Saint Leo)
RHP – Max DeJong (Macon / Georgia)
RHP – Nathan Dettmer (Savannah / Texas A&M)
RHP – Gabe Golob (HP-Thomasville / Wake Forest)
RHP – Jonathan Lavalee (Morehead City / Long Beach State)
LHP – Jeremiah Locklear (Florence / USC-Sumter)
RHP – Kyle Luigs (Savannah / Jacksonville State)
LHP – Alden Mathes (Peninsula / Richmond)
LHP – Josiah Siegel (Forest City / Georgia Tech)
RHP – Ryder Yakel (Morehead City / Harding)

Teams were selected with input from all 15 head coaches.