2006 All-Star Game

The Coastal Plain League 2006 All-Star Fan Fest and All-Star Game was hosted by the Fayetteville SwampDogs on July 17th and 18th at the Swamp in J.P. Riddle Stadium in Fayetteville, N.C.

The CPL All-Star Game festivities lasted two days and featured a Fan Fest on the night before the All-Star Game. The Fan Fest included a Home Run Derby and VIP reception. Fayetteville’s Jason Morales (UNC-Pembroke) took home the derby crown. The league’s annual All-Star Luncheon and All-Star Game took place the following day. The game was won by the American All-Stars 7-6 over the National All-Stars.

A special post-game fireworks show followed the All-Star Home Run Derby on July 17th, and there were several opportunities for fans to interact with the All-Stars during the two-day event.

Boxscore & Play-by-Play

2006 Home Run Derby Rules:
– Three Rounds, Eight (8) outs per round
– Eight (8) Hitters per All-Star Team
– Either a Home Run or it’s an Out
– Can use aluminum bats for two (2) outs per round
– Home runs with wood = 3 points
– Home runs with aluminum = 1 point

Round 1: Eight (8) hitters from the National and Eight (8) from the American
– Top three (3) hitters from both clubs advance to next round

Round 2: Three (3) hitters from the National and Three (3) from the American
– Top one (1) hitter from both clubs advances to final round

Round 3 (Championship Round): Top hitters from the National and American teams
– Hitter with the most total points in round three from all three rounds combined is crowned Champion

National All-Star Participants:
1) Zach Brown (The Citadel) – Thomasville
2) Matt Leake (Tennessee Wesleyan) – Martinsville
3) Bucky Strickland (Angelo State) – Edenton
4) Jerry Sands (Catawba College) – Spartanburg
5) Jimmy Gallagher (Duke) – Peninsula
6) Brendon Hitchcock (Binghampton) – Edenton
7) Hans Stancil (Ga. Coll. & State Univ.) – Martinsville
8) Keion Graves (Spartanburg Methodist) – Spartanburg

American All-Star Participants:
1) Kyle Enders (South Carolina) – Gastonia
2) C.J. Ziegler (Arizona) – Asheboro
3) Charlie Gamble (NC A&T) – Fayetteville
4) Ricky Owens (Belhaven College) – Florence
5) Jason Morales (UNC-Pembroke) – Fayetteville
6) Jeff Cunningham (South Alabama) – Fayetteville
7) Trent Ashcraft (East Carolina) – Florence
8) Wilson Boyd (Clemson) – Thomasville

2006 Home Run Derby Champion: Jason Morales (UNC-Pembroke) – Fayetteville