2008 All-Star Game

The Coastal Plain League 2008 All-Star Fan Fest and All-Star Game was hosted by the Asheboro Copperheads on July 21st and 22nd at McCrary Park in Asheboro, N.C.

The two-day event featured a Fan Fest on the night before the All-Star Game, highlighted by a All-Star Home Run Derby. The league’s annual All-Star luncheon and All-Star Game took place the following day. There was several opportunities for fans to interact with the All-Stars during the event. The game was won 5-3 by the National Stars over the Amercan Stars team.

Boxscore & Play-by-Play

2008 Home Run Derby Rules:
– Three Rounds, Eight (8) outs per round (round 1&2) / Ten (10) outs (round 3)
– Eight (8) Hitters per All-Star Team
– Either a Home Run or it’s an Out
– Can use aluminum bats for two (2) outs per round
– Home runs with wood = 3 points
– Home runs with aluminum = 1 point
– Points from every round rollover to the next round.

Round 1: Eight (8) hitters from the National and Eight (8) from the American
– Top three (3) hitters from both clubs advance to next round

Round 2: Three (3) hitters from the National and Three (3) from the American
– Top two (2) hitters, regardless of All-Star team, advance to final round

Round 3: (Championship Round): Top two hitters in derby thus far
– Hitter with the most total points after round three (points from rounds 1-3 combined) is crowned Champion

National All-Star Participants:
1) Bobby Leeper (Wilmington Sharks and UNC-Wilmington)
2) Sonny Meade (Thomasville HiToms and The Citadel)
3) Doug Kroll (Edenton Steamers and Oklahoma State)
4) Parker Bangs (Fayetteville SwampDogs and South Carolina)
5) Greyson Schram (Petersburg Generals and Concord)
6) Jordan Petraitis (Forest City Owls and Miami of Ohio)
7) C.J. Beatty (Thomasville HiToms and North Carolina A&T)
8) Kevin Mailloux (Forest City Owls and Canisius)

American All-Star Participants:
1) Oliver Santos (Columbia Blowfish and USC-Salkehatchie)
2) Eddie Van Es (Peninsula Pilots and Tennessee Wesleyan)
3) Jamie Walczak (Florence RedWolves and Mercyhurst)
4) Barrett Kleinknect (Florence RedWolves and Francis Marion)
5) Chris McGuinness (Thomasville HiToms and The Citadel)
6) Anthony Gallas (Peninsula Pilots and Kent State)
7) Kevin Mahoney (Forest City Owls and Canisius)
8) Daniel Wagner (Asheboro Copperheads and Belmont)

2008 Home Run Derby Champion: Barrett Kleinknect (Florence RedWolves and Francis Marion)