2003 Petitt Cup Playoffs

Friday, August 8
Game One(box score) No. 2 Florence 6, No. 7 Wilmington 5
Game Two(box score) No. 1 Thomasville 4, No. 8 Peninsula 2
Saturday, August 9
Game Three(box score) No. 3 Petersburg 2, No. 6 Asheboro 1
Game Four(box score) No. 5 Outer Banks 11, No. 4 Durham 6
Game Four(box score) No. 2 Florence 4, No. 3 Petersburg 1
Sunday, August 10
Semifinal Game(box score) No. 5 Outer Banks 9, No. 1 Thomasville 3
Championship Game(box score) No. 5 Outer Banks 7, No. 2 Florence 1

Outer Banks Wins Back-to-Back Championships With 7-1 Victory Over Florence Press Release

Tournament Individual Stats

Tournament Team Stats

Printable 2003 Petitt Cup Tournament Bracket



  • The eight (8) teams to make it to the 2003 Coastal Plain League Petitt Cup Championship Tournament will be seeded by First Half Champions (seeds 1-3 based on winning percentage in first half), Second Half Champions (seeds 4-6 based on winning percentage in second half) and two at-large teams (next best overall winning percentages). If the second half champion of a particular division is the same team as the first half champion, then the playoff berth will be awarded to the team with the next-best overall winning percentage for the entire season in that respective division.
  • Two of the eight teams that get in will be at-large entries determined by the two highest overall winning percentages of teams not yet securing a playoff spot. Should the host club not clinch a playoff spot, then as the host team they will be enter into the tourmament as one of the at-large teams.

This is the final CPL playoff picture:

2003 CPL Playoff Picture
Seed Team
1 Thomasville
2 Florence
3 Petersburg
4 Durham
5 Outer Banks
6 Asheboro
7 Wilmington
8 Peninsula


  • Thomasville, Florence, and Petersburg have clinched a berth into the Petitt Cup as First Half Champions.
  • Durham has clinched a berth into the Petitt Cup as South Division Second Half Champions.
  • Outer Banks, Peninsula, Asheboro, and Wilmington have clinched a berth into the Petitt Cup as at-large teams.
  • Edenton, Wilson, Fayetteville, Gastonia, and Spartanburg have been eliminated from playoff contention.