The Coastal Plain League is excited to announce the 2022 All-CPL First and Second teams. Each team features 28 players: one player per each infield position, five designated hitter/utility players, seven outfielders and 11 pitchers (a combination of starters and relievers). Teams were selected with input from all 14 head coaches.

The team is highlighted by CPL Hitter of the Year Ben Watson of the Morehead City Marlins, and Pitcher of the Year Dalton Pence of the Forest City Owls. Five of the position players were also honored as TrackMan Hitters of the Week during the summer. Meanwhile, six of the pitchers selected were named as TrackMan Pitchers of the Week.

The Marlins led the league with 10 selections, followed by Savannah (8) and Holly Springs (6). Wilmington and Wilson each had five players honored, while Peninsula and Tri-City were next with four apiece. High Point-Thomasville and Martinsville sported three selections with Forest City, Lexington County and Macon featuring two each. Asheboro and Florence each had one to round things out.

Below is the complete list for both the First and Second Team All-CPL players:

First Team

C – Indy Stanley (Savannah / Columbia)
1B – Brock Vradenburg (Lexington County / Michigan State)
2B – McGwire Tuffy (Morehead City / Quinnipiac)
3B – Eli Weisner (High Point-Thomasville / Louisburg College)
SS – Andrew Ciufo (Wilmington / Georgetown)

DH/UTL – Trent Youngblood (Asheboro / Transylvania)
DH/UTL – Will Butcher (Forest City / Charlotte)
DH/UTL – Trey Morgan (Peninsula / Virginia Military Institute)
DH/UTL – Eric Grintz (High Point-Thomasville / North Carolina)
DH/UTL – Brandon Eike (Tri-City / North Carolina)

OF – Ben Watson (Morehead City / Elizabethtown College)
OF – Cameron Pittman (Martinsville / Radford)
OF – Sean Johnson (Morehead City / Belmont Abbey)
OF – Armando Becerra (Savannah / Erskine)
OF – Mason Sykes (Wilson / Toledo)
OF – Drew Yniesta (Savannah / Lenoir-Rhyne)
OF – Nate Carriere (Holly Springs / Lamar)

LHP – Dalton Pence (Forest City / North Carolina)
RHP – Tyler Wehrle (Morehead City / Tiffin)
RHP – Jared Donalson (Savannah / Georgia Southwestern)
LHP – Jay Cassady (Peninsula / Christopher Newport)
RHP – Jared Kollar (Morehead City / Rutgers)
RHP – Cade Carlson (Martinsville / East Tennessee State)
RHP – Matt Hickey (Morehead City / Tarleton State)
LHP – Logan Garza (Morehead City / Texas A&M – Kingsville)
RHP – Reece Wissinger (Morehead City / Southeastern)
LHP – Michael Foltz (Holly Springs / Duke)
LHP – Brendan Bean (Morehead City / Pennsylvania)

Second Team

C – Robert Brooks (Holly Springs / Columbus State)
1B – Mason Landers (Wilmington / Belmont)
2B – Gavin Troutman (Holly Springs / Lock Haven)
3B – Jacob McCaskey (Wilson / California Univ. of Pennsylvania)
SS – Justin Johnson (High Point-Thomasville / Lafayette College)

DH/UTL – Beau Brewer (Savannah / Paris JC)
DH/UTL – AJ Mendolia (Wilmington / Central Arkansas)
DH/UTL – Mason Minzey (Macon / Ohio)
DH/UTL – Ty Swaim (Peninsula / Virginia Military Institute)
DH/UTL – Cade Swisher (Tri-City / Virginia Tech)

OF – Trey Paige (Wilson / Delaware State)
OF – Will Hardee (Florence / Francis Marion)
OF – Willie Havens (Tri-City / Elon)
OF – Bryce Matthews (Macon / Washington State)
OF – Mason Manners (Morehead City / Jacksonville State)
OF – Brett Callahan (Holly Springs / St. Joseph’s)
OF – Ty Jackson (Savannah / East Georgia)

RHP – Hayden Snelsire (Tri-City / Randolph-Macon)
RHP – Carson Starnes (Lexington County / North Carolina)
LHP – Carson Dorsey (Savannah / Gulf Coast State College)
RHP – Joe Sperone (Wilmington / West Chester)
RHP – Trent Harris (Wilson / UNC Pembroke)
LHP – Nate Varnier (Peninsula / William Peace)
RHP – Leo Giannoni (Holly Springs / Columbus State)
LHP – Caleb McRoy (Martinsville / Duke)
RHP – Caiden Wood (Wilmington / Seton Hill)
RHP – Brent Francisco (Wilson / East Stroudsburg)
RHP – Nolan Daniel (Savannah / Purdue)

About Coastal Plain League:
The Coastal Plain League, brought to you by FloSports, is the nation’s premier summer collegiate baseball league. The CPL is currently comprised of 13 franchises playing in Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia. To date, the CPL has had nearly 1,750 alumni drafted and 159 alums make their Major League debut. Most notable alumni include Justin Verlander, Ryan Zimmerman, Kevin Youkilis, Chris Taylor, Mark Reynolds, Alec Bohm and NFL Super Bowl winner Russell Wilson. For more information on the Coastal Plain League, please visit the league website at, and be sure to follow on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and TikTok @CPLBaseball.